ICE

ICE arrests New DHS release names five convicted offenders

The Department of Homeland Security says ICE arrested five noncitizens with serious criminal convictions in enforcement actions reported September 23, 2026.

By
ice arrests: ICE arrests New DHS release names five convicted offenders

ICE arrests reported by the Department of Homeland Security on September 23, 2026, involved five noncitizens whom the agency said had convictions for murder, child rape, rape, child sexual abuse material offenses and other crimes.

The announcement said they took place the previous day, September 22, as part of the administration’s broader effort to prioritize people it describes as serious public safety threats.

The release did not provide a total number of arrests nationwide, the dates of the underlying convictions, the sentences imposed or the immigration status history of the five people named in the release.

What DHS said about the five ICE arrests

DHS identified the individuals by name, nationality and the offenses it said appeared in their criminal records.

The five ICE arrests involved people from Mexico, Laos, Guatemala and Morocco.

  • Esteban Enriquez-Munoz: DHS said he is from Mexico and was convicted of murder, robbery and assault in Orange, California.
  • Viengxay Chaleunphong: DHS said he is from Laos and was convicted of three counts of rape of a child, along with assault and battery on a child under age 14, in Woburn, Massachusetts.
  • Jendrick Ordonez-Calate: DHS said he is from Guatemala and was convicted of rape in Sussex County, Delaware.
  • Jorge Avila-Velez: DHS said he is from Mexico and was convicted in Passaic, New Jersey, of possessing, viewing or controlling between 1,000 and 100,000 items of child sexual abuse material.
  • Hamza Boufnichal: DHS said he is from Morocco and had convictions for obstruction, false identification, grand larceny and assault and battery in Fairfax, Virginia.

The department did not identify the courts involved, provide case numbers or publish documents supporting each conviction in the announcement.

Those details matter because criminal convictions and immigration removability are related but separate legal questions.

Why ICE arrests can lead to detention or removal proceedings

ICE, through its Enforcement and Removal Operations division, manages the federal immigration enforcement process after a person is identified as potentially removable from the United States.

That process can include arrest, custody decisions, immigration court proceedings and removal when the government obtains the required legal authority.

The arrests described by DHS are the enforcement starting point, not proof of a final removal outcome.

ICE says detention is used in some cases to ensure a person’s appearance in immigration proceedings, facilitate removal or protect public safety when criminal history presents a risk.

An ICE arrest does not by itself establish that a person will immediately be deported.

According to ICE, removal generally requires a lawful basis and, in many cases, a final order of removal issued through the immigration system.

Some people may be held while their cases proceed, while others may be released under reporting requirements or other conditions.

The outcome depends on factors that can include prior immigration orders, the nature of the conviction, the person’s immigration classification, available defenses and decisions by immigration authorities or judges.

How criminal convictions affect immigration cases

Federal immigration law contains several grounds of removability tied to criminal conduct.

Convictions involving murder, sexual abuse, aggravated felonies, firearms, controlled substances or crimes involving moral turpitude can have significant immigration consequences, although the exact effect depends on the statutory definition and the facts of the case.

A conviction may also affect eligibility for certain forms of immigration relief.

However, a DHS news release is not a substitute for a complete criminal or immigration record.

The release did not say whether any individual had pending appeals, prior removal orders, applications for relief or other matters that could affect the next legal step.

It also did not say whether the people were arrested in jails, prisons, homes or other locations.

ICE arrests, detainers and cooperation with local agencies

In some cases, ICE seeks custody through an immigration detainer sent to a state or local correctional agency.

A detainer asks the agency to notify ICE before releasing a person so federal officers can assume custody.

ICE says its officers generally issue detainers after establishing probable cause to believe that a person is removable, often after a criminal conviction and when the person presents a public safety or national security concern.

When a facility does not honor a detainer, ICE may conduct an arrest in the community, according to the agency.

Such arrests can occur separately from the five cases described in the September 23 release.

The September 23 DHS release did not say whether detainers played a role in any of the five cases.

That omission means the public cannot determine from the announcement alone how each arrest occurred or whether any local agency participated.

What the announcement does and does not establish

The DHS statement establishes that the department publicly attributed five ICE arrests to the agency and described the individuals as having criminal convictions.

It does not establish that all five people have been ordered removed, that removal has occurred or that they are currently being held in ICE custody.

It also does not provide enough information to independently assess the underlying criminal cases beyond the descriptions supplied by DHS.

That distinction is important in immigration coverage because an arrest is an enforcement event, while removal is a later legal and administrative outcome.

The five ICE arrests therefore do not establish the final result of any case.

The department used the phrase “illegal aliens” in describing the people arrested.

INUS News uses more specific terms such as “noncitizens” where the available information does not document a person’s complete immigration history.

DHS also framed the arrests as part of President Donald Trump’s and Secretary Markwayne Mullin’s public safety agenda.

The release did not include independent comments from defense attorneys, the individuals named, local prosecutors or immigration advocates.

What happens next in cases involving ICE arrests

After an ICE arrest, officers may review the person’s identity, criminal record and immigration history before deciding whether to detain the person, release the person under conditions or pursue removal proceedings.

If a person is placed in immigration court proceedings, the case may involve hearings before the Executive Office for Immigration Review.

Depending on the circumstances, the person may seek legal representation, challenge removability or apply for relief if legally eligible.

A final outcome can take time, particularly when criminal records, appeals or claims for protection must be reviewed.

People who need case-specific advice should consult a licensed immigration attorney or an accredited representative rather than relying only on a DHS news release.

Families trying to locate someone in ICE custody can use the agency’s online detainee locator or contact ICE’s detention information line.

The DHS release also directed the public to its “Worst of the Worst” webpage for additional announcements about public safety arrests.

What remains unanswered about the ICE arrests

DHS did not disclose how many total ICE arrests occurred on September 22, 2026, or how many involved people with criminal convictions.

The agency also did not state whether any of the five individuals had been transferred to ICE custody from local or state facilities.

There was no information about removal dates, destination countries, immigration court hearings or legal representation.

Those details may become available through later court filings, ICE updates or additional DHS announcements.

For now, the announcement documents five ICE arrests and the criminal convictions DHS attributes to the individuals, but it does not provide a complete account of the cases or their eventual immigration outcomes.

Frequently Asked Questions

What did DHS announce on September 23, 2026?

DHS said ICE arrested five noncitizens on September 22, 2026, and identified convictions involving murder, child rape, rape, child sexual abuse material and other offenses.

Does an ICE arrest automatically mean deportation?

No. An ICE arrest does not automatically mean a person has been deported. Removal generally requires a lawful basis and, in many cases, a final removal order.

Where can families seek information about someone in ICE custody?

Families can use ICE’s online detainee locator or contact ICE’s detention information line. Case-specific legal questions should be directed to a licensed immigration attorney or accredited representative.

Did DHS publish the total number of ICE arrests in the operation?

No. The September 23 DHS release named five individuals but did not provide a nationwide arrest total or a full description of the operation.

Fact-Checked: The named arrests and offense descriptions were checked against the DHS announcement; process information was checked against official ICE guidance.

Disclaimer: This article summarizes an official DHS announcement and is not legal advice or a complete account of the individuals’ criminal or immigration cases.

New Minimum Wage In Canada and 5 Provinces, Effective April 1

New Ontario Minimum Wage Increase, Effective October 1

Kamal Deep Singh, RCIC

Kamal Deep Singh, RCIC (Regulated Canadian Immigration Consultant) licensed by CICC (formerly known as ICCRC) with member number R708618. He brings extensive knowledge of immigration law and new changes to rapidly evolving IRCC.

Discover more from INUS News

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

10 New Canada Laws and Rules Taking Effect In August 2026

4 New CRA Benefit Payments Coming In August 2026

New Express Entry Draw On August 5 Sent 3,000 PR Invitations

New Ontario-OINP Permanent Residence Pathway Intake Is Now Open

New CRA Breach Settlement Claims Now Open For Up To $5,000